Sunpu Castle Park

The event will be held at the former site of Sunpu Castle with the cherry blossoms in full bloom.

Sunpu Castle was built about 650 years ago in the Muromachi period (1336-1573) when Norikuni Imagawa was appointed as the governor of Suruga Province. It is believed that the Imagawa clan's mansions have been located around Sunpu Castle since that time.

Tokugawa Ieyasu, who became the fudal lord of five countries around Sunpu, began building Sunpu Castle as his residence in 1585, and completed the part of the castle within the present Ninomaru in 1589.

The current Sunpu Castle Park is a reconstruction of the old Honmaru and Ninomaru areas inside the middle moat of Sunpu Castle.

In 1989, the Tatsumi Yagura turret was restored in the southeast corner of Ninomaru. Both the Tatsumi Yagura and the East Gate have been restored using traditional construction methods, and the interior is open to the public as a museum.

The Momijiyama Garden was also developed in the fall of 2001, and in addition, a HitsujisaruYagura was restored in the southwest corner in 2014.

City Area

In the city area, the festival will be held in front of Shizuoka City Hall and around Gofuku-cho, Shichiken-cho and Ryogae-cho.


In the Nara period (710-794), this area was known as "Abe no Ichi" and in the Kamakura period (1185-1333) as "Renjaku-cho", and was the commercial center of Suruga Province.

In 1609, during the early Edo period, when Tokugawa Ieyasu divided the 96 towns of Sunpu, Shichiken-cho was born.

There are several theories about the origin of the town's name, including the theory that there were seven silk, rice, oil, fish, and cotton manufacturers' associations, the theory that the road was seven kilometers wide (about 13 meters), and the theory that there were seven scale shops.


During the reign of the Imagawa clan, Gofukumachi was known as the main town of Sunpu, and it is known to have been a major area under the castle.
The name " Gofuku-cho" was first used in 1609 by Tokugawa Ieyasu when he divided the city into 96 towns.

It is said that the name was given to this place by Muneyoshi Tomono, who was the head of the Amiza and Momenza groups from the end of the Imagawa period (1560s) to the beginning of the Tokugawa period (1620s).

Sozen served as the head of the town, assisted the magistrate when Sunpu was divided into towns, and played an active role in Sunpu's town planning.
As the name suggests, there were more than a dozen kimono stores lining the streets of Kofuku-cho before the war.


The name "Ryogae-cho" comes from the silver coin mint (Ginza) established by Tokugawa Ieyasu in 1606 near the former Ryogae-cho 2-chome.

This "ryogae" was Ginza's business of buying ash-buki silver and exchanging it for official cast Ding silver. There was also a concentration of money changers around the silver coin foundry.

Later, in 1612, the silver mint was moved from Sunpu to Edo.
The land where the silver mint was located is now called Ginza in Tokyo.
Ginza in Tokyo was called "Shin Ryogae-cho" in the Edo period (especially from Keicho to Kan'ei).